By Any Other Name

If decades can be named, then this one has definitely been the Decade of Exhaustion. The one prior was the Decade of Growth. The one before that was the Decade of Creativity. The one before that, the one that ushered in my existence on the planet and took me into double digits, was the Decade of Innocence.

I’m still in the Decade of Exhaustion, but there is the promise of a new decade, one in which I am not fumbling and stumbling blindly through my daily existence. I should qualify all this by stating that I chose this decade, exhaustion and all, and that I would not un-choose it, not for any amount of leisurely dinners with friends, spur-of-the-moment shopping trips, or four-hour naps. Still, I’m ready for a new decade. My arms are full of all that I have learned, and am still learning, during my Decade of Exhaustion. The bundle still feels a bit cumbersome at times, but I know that soon enough, it will feel like a gift.

I wonder what my new decade will be named. I’m tempted to name it myself — prophetically? arrogantly? — but I know that it needs to take on its own identity. It will likely be years before I find out its name. Whatever it is, I love it already.

 

This entry was posted in Faith, Gifts, Joy, Life, Memory. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to By Any Other Name

  1. I remember my own Decade of Exhaustion. Since we chose a Christian school that was somewhat far from our home, I drove Kristina a considerable distance 5 days a week for many years. Throw in extracurricular activities, and there were times I spent 2 hours a day in the car. I was just in line at Panera tonight, and the woman behind me was telling her friend about having 3 daughters in different dance classes at different times on different days, and those memories of extreme “busyness” came rushing back. How ironic that I come home and read this blog! Your Decade of Exhaustion will eventually come to an end, and your 3 little ones won’t be so little anymore. Hang in there!

  2. lperdue73 says:

    I always knew I wanted to be a mom, and of course, I wouldn’t trade a second of it. These tired years are definitely a very, very small price to pay, and somehow just acknowledging that I’m exhausted in this particular season has given me some much-needed clarity. I remember your days of driving Kris to and fro and volunteering at her school, and I also remember wondering if you ever got a minute to yourself! But, I know you wouldn’t have traded it, either! Love you!

Leave a Reply

