Patmos

I have been in exile for over a decade. In fact, it was nine days from today, eleven years ago, that I found out I would be a mother for the first time.

Exile, at least for me, was a natural result of choosing motherhood. I spent the first twenty-nine years of my life living for myself, soaking up as much of my limited world as I could before willingly committing my life to nourishing another. When my firstborn came along, the landscape no longer seemed familiar.

Maybe it was bleary-eyed exhaustion that clouded my vision. Maybe it was a tinge of longing for my old life, at least in those first few weeks. All I knew was that, suddenly, there was no time for dinners with friends. There was no time for late-night excursions with my husband and three-o’clock-in-the-morning breakfasts on the weekends just because we could. There was no time to lose myself in a good book for hours on end. There was no time to write.

Patmos image courtesy Greek-Islands.us

I’m coming out of exile. I can feel it. My eyes are opening. The fog is lifting. My family is thriving, and I am writing.

This entry was posted in Creating, Faith, Family, Gifts, Life, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Patmos

  1. Your exile will, undoubtedly, be great fodder for your written word. Your experience as a mother will feed your craft and we will benefit from it. Can’t wait to read more!

  2. lperdue73 says:

    Thank you so much for your encouraging words! They are such a gift to me this morning. I plan to read Madeleine L’Engle’s autobiographical account A Circle of Quiet. Something tells me that it will resonate with me. Blessings in abundance to you!

  3. I’m so glad you’re writing again. I get so much out of your posts. God has definitely given you a gift and it’s a blessing to your readers that you’re able to share that gift with us! Welcome back from your “exile!”

  4. lperdue73 says:

    Thank you, Julie. You don’t know what that means to me! Sometimes, the overwhelming urge to shrink back and hide forever is stronger than the urge to write, but I am going to keep doing it, because writing is so much a part of who I am. I tried denying my love for writing for years, but it keeps sneaking back to the surface. I’m going to keep going with it and see where it takes me. I love you!

Leave a Reply

