The Other Side

I’m stepping into an intense time of attack right now. I know it’s coming on because my schedule, which usually is serenaded with chirping crickets and a whole bunch of the mundane (which is not necessarily a bad thing), is suddenly filling up with work projects and demands that are being seemingly pelted at me from all directions. Some of these things are literally coming out of nowhere. It’s weird. Weird, but not unexpected.
The schedule-jamming is usually the enemy’s first course of action. Everything just sort of snowballs from there. If there was only one thing I was allowed to be thankful for today, it would be that the enemy is predictable.

I’m praying myself out of this attack, so I know I’ll get to the other side of it, but in the meantime, something pretty incredible occurred to me a while ago as I begged for my limited hours to be multiplied. (The fact that I’m able to sit down and write this proves that this particular request has already been granted — Amen!) Here’s what occurred to me. There’s a very marked difference between schemes and plans. Being the etymology freak that I am, I had to look up the origins of both words if only to prove to myself that I’m not going out of my ever-loving mind. Sure enough, this is what I dug up:

scheme (n.) 1550s, “figure of speech,” from M.L. schema “shape, figure, form, figure of speech,” from Gk. skhema (gen. skhematos) “figure, appearance, the nature of a thing”

plan (n.) 1670s, “drawing, sketch, or diagram of any object,” from Fr. plan “ground plan, map”

A scheme has all the makings of a plan, but doesn’t quite get there. It only looks like one. Sometimes, it can look so convincingly like an actual plan that I fall for it.  It’s shifty. It’s born of bad intentions. It’s self-serving. Quicksand comes to mind. A plan, on the other hand, is fixed, solid, level, and direction-oriented. I think of a firm foundation. Immovable.

Today, at this moment, I am resolving to stand on God’s plans rather than fall for the enemy’s schemes.

This entry was posted in Faith, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Other Side

  1. patrickroden says:

    Interesting, In the UK the word ‘scheme’ is always negative, as in sneeky or cunning etc. A plan is a determined, structured course of action. In my work if I am to do a specific piece of work with a service user, it will be written up in a ‘plan’
    I think one of my problems is I do not plan my walk with God enough. I think this post will help though, so thanx for posting.

    God bless 🙂

Leave a Reply

