One

I’m wrestling with God and begging Him to not leave my presence until He blesses me with the right words. I pray that, imperfect as they are, they will perfectly convey my sentiments.

I recently re-joined Twitter on a whim after a long absence from it. I was never an active participant there before, but I decided that, if I was going to spontaneously hurl myself back out on that particular shaky limb, I might as well go full bore. I began to tweet my little heart out to all six of my followers. Today, I was halted in my tracks when I read a tweet from a fun, fashionable, encouraging woman whose blog I like to read. Her friend, a woman I have never met, a beautiful, vibrant, grateful woman with a small child, lost her husband last night in a car accident.

All the thoughts I usually think when I am made aware of a tragedy like this one immediately started to flood my mind: Why? How will she cope? Her daughter will be without a daddy. It’s so unfair. His poor friends and family.

But then, my thoughts were re-directed. This precious woman and her baby were being prayed for. The news of what had happened was reaching perfect strangers from near and far, and they were being prayed for. Not just prayed about, but prayed for.

There is a rock-solid core of people on the Internet whose shared purpose is to take what is so often used for self-promotion (of which I have been guilty) and use it to take the focus away from self. That core continues to expand at a radical pace. If God has His way — and His word assures us that He will — then it will grow until it completely overshadows everything at its outer reaches. Self-promotion disintegrates the person from the inside out. God-promotion integrates the spirit from the outside in. Wholeness can only be found at the core. The core is where about me becomes for Him. As I join countless others in praying for a woman and child I have never met, I am reminded that the core is where true life is found, even in the shadow of death. Especially there.

Therefore if you have any encouragement from being united with Christ, if any comfort from his love, if any common sharing in the Spirit, if any tenderness and compassion, then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and of one mind. Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others. — Philippians 2:1-4

This entry was posted in Faith, Grief, Humility, Prayer, Spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One

  1. patrickroden says:

    Quote: “Self-promotion disintegrates the person from the inside out. God-promotion integrates the spirit from the outside in”
    That is so awsome and so true and yet I’d never thought of it.
    Thanx for posting.
    I’ve never tried tweeting,mainly because it seems that the main skill in ‘tweeting’ is only saying a few words, something I’m not very good at ! lol.

    I will join you and the others in praying for the lady and her daughter.
    God bless you.

Leave a Reply

